#prolific

Too much of a good thing… Is that possible? Am I playing too much weekend golf? Is eating pizza every Sunday night ruining my chance at a beach body? Should I have another shot of whiskey or will that make the walk home too difficult? Am I over sharing? Am I blogging too often or filling timelines with too many silly observations? Is my next plate of food at that cute oceanfront restaurant worthy of having its picture taken? I have picked up a few habits since moving. Other traits I packed inside the Maxima. I might be a glutton for punishment, repeating the same action and hoping for better results. I might be accused of being a prolific golfer, pizza’er, taco’er, whiskey’er, Twitter’er, or photographer, but so far its impossible to experience too much of a good thing.

PROLIFICEtymology: 1640-1650: from French prolifique, from Latin proles ‎(“offspring”) and facere ‎(“to make”). Adjective. 1. Fertile, producing offspring or fruit in abundance — applied to plants producing fruit, animals producing young, etc. 2. Similarly producing results or works in abundance; Synonyms: fertile (fertile, producing offspring or fruit in abundance), fecund (producing results or works in abundance); See also: productive

What do you have planned this weekend?” is the most commonly asked/dreaded question as we leap into the end of the work week. Since I am old and gray and chained to my desk for most daylight hours, my default answer is that I intend to golf at least once each weekend and I am on a good streak this season. Golf is year-round in California and it took me a few months living here to fully realize and capitalize on that opportunity. I will end up playing nearly 40 rounds this year, easily the most since I starting keeping track of such important information. My favorite local track remains the Destroyer at the Navy GC in Seal Beach, but have begun getting more adventurous and willing to travel further inland to attempt other clubs. We played recently at Robinson Ranch and Glen Ivy, and both courses offered a challenge while also providing interesting scenery throughout the duration of each round. Golf remains an activity I can comfortably enjoy as a single. I may skate around solo, but more likely will be paired with other players. Most often the other members of the foursome are knowledgeable, friendly, normal people, but there are knucklehead hackers that make it difficult to enjoy a day on the links.

Why don’t you cook for yourself at home?” Well. Maybe it’s because I didn’t have a functional oven for the first six months at The Sovereign. Maybe it is because twice in the last month I discarded the limited contents of the refrigerator after power outages in Long Beach. More likely, it’s because I was taking full advantage of all of the different types of cuisine within walking distance of my apartment. I was always scared of moving into Chicago, (yet still moved 2000 miles away instead) but the idea of having walking-distance access bars and restaurants was always appealing. I am enjoying having that access in Long Beach. To be able to park my car each night in the garage and venture on foot for brunch or a sandwich or sushi or Thai or BBQ or pizza or fried chicken or ice cream (and/or all of the above) is the best part about living where I do. Last Friday the work week ended at George’s  where I secured a table for one and indulged in gyros and humus, because why not?

…Maybe the over-priced beers beforehand at Bo-Beau influenced my ordering decision. Or it was the busy work day that disallowed a break from my desk and instead encouraged handfuls of granola and trail mix instead of an actual breakfast and lunch. Regardless of the flimsy explanation, the food at George’s was delicious, as was the Hillas and Ouzo. HAPPY HOUR. Today (Friday 8/7) is #InternationalBeerDay, or something, and it seems like a holiday worth celebrating fully with a couple local pints. Hopefully I am able to grab a barstool at Belmont and Beachwood before walking off my buzz along the shoreline.

Certainly my best buddy since moving to California is my iPhone 6. I didn’t get the 6-Plus in fear that it wouldn’t fit in the back pocket of my skinny jeans. My phone goes everywhere I go and usually leads the way wherever I’m headed next. My calendar is updated regularly with times and places and addresses are uploaded to GPS so I can make the next meeting with minimal confusion. I am regularly checking Twitter to stay abreast of the days’ news: Long Beach power outages, baseball saber-metric analysis, or celebrating randomly hashtagged holidays, all while steering clear of political blowhards and sports meatballs. I will also happily use social media to give the appearance of being busy when I am more likely lost, confused, aimless, or waiting. I am probably on my phone too much, but am at least polite enough to not reach for my phone while sitting across the table from you at dinner.

I am still in awe of California and do my best to capture all of my local adventures. Some photos are filtered and cropped and posted to Instagram, while others are saved for a rainy day to be shared with others. But, well, there aren’t many rainy days in California during a historic drought and most of these pictures remain buried on my mobile device. Why take and save all of these images? What sort of photographer am I? Am I trying to prove my artistic talent? Should I stop taking pictures of palm trees? Should I take more pictures of pizza? Is yesterday’s sunset different from today? Until I am better able to answer those questions or have someone to share these simple experiences with, here is a handful of recent captures from Point Fermin Park, Belmont Veterans Memorial Pier, Long Beach Shoreline Marina, and Downtown Long Beach near Pine Avenue.

IMG_3566 IMG_3564 (1) IMG_3531 IMG_3535 IMG_3444 IMG_3446 (1) IMG_3546


WD-40

WD-40 is the trademark name of a penetrating oil and water-displacing spray. The spray is produced by San Diego, CA-based WD-40 Co.

WD-40 was developed in 1953 by Norm Larsen, founder of the Rocket Chemical Company, in San Diego, California. WD-40, abbreviated from the phrase “Water Displacement, 40th formula”, indicating it was the 40th formula the chemists tried before finding success. The product was originally designed to repel water and prevent corrosion on the Atlas space rocket, and later was found to have numerous household uses.

Larsen was attempting to create a formula to prevent corrosion in nuclear missiles, by displacing the standing water that causes it. He claims he arrived at a successful formula on his 40th attempt. WD-40 is primarily composed of various hydrocarbons.

WD-40 was first used by Convair to protect the outer skin and, more importantly, the paper-thin balloon tanks of the Atlas missile from rust and corrosion. These stainless steel fuel tanks were so thin that, when empty, they had to be kept inflated with nitrogen gas to prevent their collapse.

WD-40 first became commercially available on store shelves in San Diego, California in 1958.

The long-term active ingredient is a non-volatile, viscous oil which remains on the surface, providing lubrication and protection from moisture. This is diluted with a volatile hydrocarbon to give a low viscosity fluid which can be sprayed and thus penetrate crevices. The volatile hydrocarbon then evaporates, leaving the oil behind. A propellant (originally a low-molecular weight hydrocarbon, now carbon dioxide) provides gas pressure in the can to force the liquid through the spray nozzle, then evaporates away.

These properties make the product useful in both home and commercial fields; removing dirt and residue, and extricating stuck screws and bolts are common usages, and it also loosens stubborn zippers. It is also useful in displacing moisture.

Due to its lightness (low viscosity), WD-40 is not always the preferred oil for certain applications. Applications that require higher viscosity oils may use motor oils, while those requiring a mid-range oil could use honing oil.

via WIKIPEDIA and WD40.com

Leave a Reply

