#wander

Recently, I looked in the mirror and didn’t particularly like what I saw. I was a far distance away from achieving the ideal California summer body. I was always the fat kid in the pool wearing a t-shirt, so my farmer’s tan was the first thing I packed when moving to the West Coast. (My white socks, too.) I have tried to get into the routine of doing some sort of physical activity each day, or certainly at least on the weekends. That might mean a handful of push-ups or sit-ups while watching network news, or lunge-walking from here to the refrigerator. Most typically, it has meant an after-work stroll from my building to The Pike to Shoreline Village to the Beach to Broadway to Pine, or wherever else LBC has to offer.

(Blogger’s Note: This entry is being submitted after consuming a few cocktails while on the edge of my barstool for the latest Blackhawks victory. Most other entries were written while in a much clearer, more stable state of mind. Spelling and grammar and honesty here may be blamed on single barrel Jack Daniel’s Whiskey.)

If I ever intend to hit muscle beach, I’ll need to create at least one muscle. I havent decided yet what that would be. In the meantime, I will better adhere to the weekend policy of drinking my dinner rather than indulging in three meals. The liquor and low-calorie soda, plus parking further away from the restaurant shed excess weight away in no time. Both Friday after work and Saturday “morning,” I ventured out for an hour-long walk to mix beautiful Long Beach scenery and semi-relevant podcasts. Today I learned about how violent sex crimes are punished and their effects on the economy and some insider information on the NHL and NBA Final.

Aside from physically wandering around downtown Long Beach, my mind has done some wandering as well. It is amazing to me that I have been here for nearly seven months, that I’m past halfway in my initial lease, that I still am most often a party of one when out on the town. I have gotten into a more regular routine of golfing most weekends, though right now the Blackhawks continue to have much of my attention and be a priority. The weekday, west coast, early puck drops have necessitated efficient work days and aggressive driving to ensure being somewhere in front of a television for each game. Somehow I’ve been stuck sitting next to a Lightning fan for two games, perhaps the first times in recorded history a Tampa hockey fan has been spotted in the wild.

Anyway, back to wandering. Perhaps influenced by copious amounts of liquor And fried food or binge watching Netflix, my dreams are often interfered and clouded with bizarre circumstance. There was the time I was bar-hopping and boating in Lake Geneva. Or drag racing under the fireworks on a one way street in Michigan. Or getting into a scuffle on Main Street with a troublemaker in Texas. A reoccurring vision is trying unsuccessfully to put the puzzle pieces together to determine how exactly I ended up in California. I have never been a good sleeper, but always value the broken slumber of a weekend morning. Beauty rest is important if I am ever to better transfer from milquetoast Midwesterner to comfortable Californian.

Tomorrow will be another day of California sunshine and green(ish) grass and fresh air on the golf course. I’ll aim to continue rounding that summer body into shape with a slice or two of traditional Sunday Night Pizza.

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I’m going to further distort my mind by cooling down with a few more episodes of Breaking Bad and a tall glass of water. Nothing says sweet dreams like black market distribution of methamphetamine and cartel warfare.

Jesse Pinkman Soundtrack Ear Worm:


Albuquerque is the most populous city in the U.S. state of New Mexico. It is a high-altitude city and serves as the county seat of Bernalillo County, and it is situated in the central part of the state, straddling the Rio Grande. The city population was 555,417 as of the July 1, 2012, population estimate from the United States Census Bureau, and ranks as the 32nd-largest city in the U.S. The Albuquerque MSA has a population of 902,797 according to the United States Census Bureau’s most recently available estimate for July 1, 2013. Albuquerque is the 59th-largest United States metropolitan area. The Albuquerque MSA population includes the city of Rio Rancho, Bernalillo, Placitas, Corrales, Los Lunas, Belen, Bosque Farms, and forms part of the larger Albuquerque – Santa Fe – Las Vegas combined statistical area, with a total population of 1,163,964 as of the July 1, 2013 Census Bureau estimates. With its population growing bigger over the years, Albuquerque is the fastest growing city in New Mexico.

Albuquerque is home to the University of New Mexico, Kirtland Air Force Base, Sandia National Laboratories, Lovelace Respiratory Research Institute, Central New Mexico Community College, Presbyterian Health Services, Walter White, and Petroglyph National Monument. The Sandia Mountains run along the eastern side of Albuquerque, and the Rio Grande flows through the city, north to south.

(via Wikipedia)

One thought on “#wander

  1. My favorite thing about your posts is that you somehow connect songs, facts and life into one cohesive thing. Beach bodies are overrated and Lightning fans seem to have come out of the woodwork lately. Happy Monday!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

