#communication

The original idea for this blog was to share all things related to my move to California. This space was to be used to keep family and friends updated as I got settled into living on the West Coast. But certainly the loyal, modest readership can only be entertained by so many stories of taco binges and craft beer consumption. I’ll ask for your patience as this blog hopefully evolves to be a place where I openly communicate and better express myself. After all, I’d rather speak to those I am most familiar with rather than the other lonely guy dining al fresco.

While I have not previously been one to make or keep a New Year’s resolution, my goal for 2015 is to be more responsive and available and to not avoid conversation, to somehow break that social awkwardness and anxiety. I can tweet and forward clever tidbits, but I want to be proactive and willing to share my feelings and be more substantive with my thoughts. It is easy to use social media as a crutch: LIKE and FAVORITE and RE-TWEET and SHARE and CHEERS for any post that is attention-getting. I enjoy being able to keep in touch via Facebook and Instagram and Twitter and learn how cold it was yesterday in Chicago or drool over the delicious dinner cooked at home Wednesday or surprise myself reading that article about SkyMall’s pending bankruptcy. It will take a lot of work to get me more comfortable with the personal touch of a face-to-face interaction or meaningful phone conversation. Somehow I’ll get used to the idea that it’s okay to have feelings and to share them. As I’ve always believed, Everything Will Be Okay, but need to take a different path to get there.

Don’t be afraid to tweet or comment or text or email or call me maybe. California is a pretty amazing place that I fully intend to explore and enjoy, even if currently it feels somewhat lonely. It is 70° and sunny and clear every day here this week and I’m playing golf tomorrow. This is the middle of winter. What potential will the rest of the year offer?

Recent Highlights (Why You Visited in the First Place)

American Sniper at Long Beach Cinemark – Its true. I went to see a movie. By myself. The most surprising part isn’t that I was willing to go on my own, rather that I went at all. The two most recent movies I saw in the theater are Nightcrawler, just before I left for California and Thank You For Not Smoking, the cinematic masterpiece released in 2005. It’s easy to understand why there is controversy surrounding American Sniper, but also why it is critically acclaimed and sure to earn an award or two. (I pay attention to “Award Season” now that I’m here.) Bradley Cooper was fantastic, especially in his portrayal of how hard it must be for soldiers to return home after each tour of combat. Let’s ignore the fact that a plastic baby was used during filming and focus more that nearby Seal Beach was used for important scenes in the movie.

pier76 – I must be losing my mind. I chose to go eat seafood. By myself. After being held hostage at my apartment by a delinquent handyman, I gave up on him visiting to finalize minor repairs and set out to downtown Long Beach on foot. I’ve walked past pier76 at least one hundred times and never thought about dining in. But Monday was the night for me to indulge in grilled swordfish. The friendly girl at the counter tried to talk me into the famous lobster roll, but I was not willing to set sail. I suppose part of living so close to the ocean will be eating things that come out of it.

Woody’s– I haven’t had much luck so far making tee-time arrangements as a single. Saturday was another failure after morning outdoor basketball practice. I tried six different courses and none were willing to squeeze me onto the tee-sheet. Instead I drove north along the coast over the Vincent Thomas Bridge and into San Pedro and Palos Verdes. Rather than crowded beaches, the geography here is stunning cliffs rising from the water. I then made my way back south along PCH and into Seal Beach for an avocado omelette brunch at the counter. I’ve found since moving that the best way to settle an upset stomach is to listen and watch the waves crashing ashore.


Alexander Graham Bell

Alexander Graham Bell,  (born March 3, 1847, Edinburgh, Scotland—died August 2, 1922, Beinn Bhreagh, Cape Breton Island, Nova Scotia, Canada), Scottish-born American inventor, scientist, and teacher of the deaf whose foremost accomplishments were the invention of the telephone (1876) and the refinement of the phonograph (1886).

While pursuing his teaching profession, Bell also began researching methods to transmit several telegraph messages simultaneously over a single wire—a major focus of telegraph innovation at the time and one that ultimately led to Bell’s invention of the telephone. In 1868 Joseph Stearns had invented the duplex, a system that transmitted two messages simultaneously over a single wire. Western Union Telegraph Company, the dominant firm in the industry, acquired the rights to Stearns’s duplex and hired the noted inventor Thomas Edison to devise as many multiple-transmission methods as possible in order to block competitors from using them. Edison’s work culminated in the quadruplex, a system for sending four simultaneous telegraph messages over a single wire. Inventors then sought methods that could send more than four; some, including Bell and his great rivalElisha Gray, developed designs capable of subdividing a telegraph line into 10 or more channels. These so-called harmonic telegraphs used reeds or tuning forks that responded to specific acoustic frequencies. They worked well in the laboratory but proved unreliable in service.

Bell undertook two other noteworthy research projects at the Volta Laboratory. In 1880 he began research on using light as a means to transmit sound. In 1873 British scientist Willoughby Smith discovered that the element selenium, asemiconductor, varied its electrical resistance with the intensity of incident light. Bell sought to use this property to develop the photophone, an invention he regarded as at least equal to his telephone. He was able to demonstrate that the photophone was technologically feasible, but it did not develop into a commercially viable product. Nevertheless, it contributed to research into thephotovoltaic effect that had practical applications later in the 20th century.

Throughout his life, Bell sought to foster the advance of scientific knowledge. He supported the journal Science, which later became the official publication of theAmerican Association for the Advancement of Science. He was one of the founders of the National Geographic Society in 1888 and succeeded his father-in-law, Gardiner Hubbard, as president of the society between 1898 and 1903. In that year his son-in-law, Gilbert H. Grosvenor, became editor in chief of the National Geographic Magazine. Bell died at his Nova Scotia estate, where he was buried.

Full Passage HERE via Encyclopedia Britannica

Leave a Reply

